Look Mum! I’m on BBC News! + VLOG

The title was basically my reaction when I found out two nights before going on BBC News. I literally called my mum and hyperventilated down the phone to her. Basically, I was very excited.

When I was contacted by a woman on Twitter asking me if I would be interested in appearing on The Victoria Derbyshire show on BBC News for the Queens 90th bday, of course I thought it was a joke. A few emails and calls later, they had booked my train ticket to and from the studios and cars to drive us around London.

Wow! What a whirlwind day it was.

This was my first TV appearance so of course I had to get a recording of it – (Huge thanks to the BBC for giving this vid to me).

I am so blessed to get a taster of something I want to do in the (near!) future. That day really did firm how much I want to work in broadcast journalism, and I am now even more motivated to get there!

I am also so grateful to my friend, Bolu for coming along with me (on super short notice, mind you!) and making this experience even more enjoyable. Bolu also acted as my personal photographer and took some amazing pics. Check them out below.

I am not really going to refer to the rather offensive comment the elderly woman on the panel said (watch the video to see) because I want this post to remain positive. I am still quite proud of my response to her and I stand by what I said.

Make sure you check out my VLOG of the day below!

IMG_6829IMG_6838 IMG_6853 IMG_6884IMG_6904IMG_6912IMG_6911IMG_6938IMG_6919IMG_6942

P&L.

Paula Melissa xx

 

3 thoughts on “Look Mum! I’m on BBC News! + VLOG”

  1. First of all, I want to say you are definitely in the right line of career. You looked so good on camera and spoke really well even though you were probably nervous😀 However, that didn’t show and that was really good and professional. I also really like your response to the elderly woman’s comment, that was really mature and professional especially in a setting like that. Basically, great job and so proud & happy for you because this is definitely a big step in your career of journalism. Great VLOG and pictures, you and your friend look really great and nice outfits😍

    Keep up the good and hard work & God bless! 🙏

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.